Knowledge Base Home

Call Support


Search the Knowledge Base

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Environment

Netmail Archive 6.x

Synopsis

Over time you may notice the C:\ drive of your master Archive server filling up.  Some investigation may reveal that there's many GB's consumed in C:\Program Files (x86)\PostgreSQL.  This indicates that the logging database is accumulating a lot of information, either in the form of errors, warnings, or traces.  This article will explain what can affect the database growth and how to control it.

Solution

In order to prevent this issue in the future there are two things you want look for. Firstly, review your routine jobs and look for the option to "Enable logging" on the "Log Settings" tab (see screenshot below).  When selected, it will log a lot extra information into a table called mplus_trace in the database, which is very helpful when debugging a problem.  However having this enabled any other time will only serve to bloat the database and slow your jobs.

 

 

The "enable logging" option also exists on the Archiving -> Configuration tab. It not only serves to increase verbosity of the Address Book Sync job, but it also becomes the default for all new jobs created. If you find multiple jobs with additional logging enabled, it's possible they were created while this option was enabled on the Configuration tab.

 

Another thing you want to check is that you are not keeping logs for more than necessary.  Also on the Archiving -> Configuration tab is the option to "Purge log After" X days. Setting this to a higher number will oblige the system to retain all the job errors & warning for a longer period, thus consuming more space. In most cases a setting between 10-30 days is reasonable & sufficient.

 

 

Notes

It's important to note that if you are in the middle of troubleshooting something with our support team it might be necessary to have it this way, please check with your support representative if it's safe to turn detailed logging off.

Also worthwhile mentioning is that databases do not release space once they've allocated it.  Even if you disable logging & reduce the retention period, you may find that the space on the C:\ drive is not recovered.  To force this, you will need to connect to the database (via PGAdmin) and either perform a FULL vacuum on the tables or drop / recreate the database.

  • No labels